Everything you need to know about the Lions vs Highlanders

680e3eaf gettyimages 1137763327 1200x800 - Everything you need to know about the Lions vs Highlanders

After beating the Waratahs 29-28 at home last weekend, the Lions are getting ready to take on the Highlanders in Johannesburg once more.

The Highlanders are currently third on the Australian Super Rugby conference, while the Lions are in fourth place on the South African conference.

Lions team and injury news

According to the Lions’ official website, Malcolm Marx will retain the captaincy for their Super Rugby clash against the Highlanders.

Warren Whiteley will sit out the encounter due to a knee bone bruise.

Changes in the starting line-up include Dylan Smith who will start in the place of Sti Sithole at loosehead prop while Kwagga Smith moves into the number eight jersey. Marnus Schoeman will come in at number six while Cyle Brink will don the number seven jersey in place of Vincent Tshituka.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Courtnall Skosan, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Kwagga Smith, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Stephan Lewies, 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 Malcolm Marx (c), 1 Dylan Smith

Substitutes: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Vincent Tshituka, 20 Hacjivah Dayimani, 21 Nic Groom, 22 Shaun Reynolds, 23 Tyrone Green

Highlanders team and injury news

Shannon Frizell will return from his All Blacks’ break to take his place at number eight for the Highlanders.

Elliot Dixon gets a well-earned break and Dillon Hunt completes a new look backrow with James Lentjes heading to the bench. Josh Dickson and Tom Franklin will lock the scrum and Tyrel Lomax replaces Siate Tokolahi at tighthead.

In the backs, Waisake Naholo returns from a lengthy injury break and will ease into the action off the bench. Teihorangi Walden will partner with Rob Thompson in the midfield and Patelesio Tomkinson will move to the wing to cover for the injured Tevita Li. Daniel Hollinshead will again cover the pivot position.

Highlanders: 15 Matt Faddes, 14 Jordan Hyland, 13 Rob Thompson, 12 Teihorangi Walden, 11 Sio Tomkinson, 10 Josh Ioane, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Shannon Frizell, 7 Luke Whitelock (c), 6 Dillon Hunt, 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Josh Dickson, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Ayden Johnstone

Substitutes: 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Daniel Lienert-Brown, 18 Siate Tokolahi, 19 Jack Whetton, 20 James Lentjes, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Dan Hollinshead, 23 Waisake Naholo

Kick off time

Saturday, 17 May at 15:05 (SAST).

TV & live stream

The game will be broadcast live on SuperSport 1 (SS1).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *