Cricket World Cup: New Zealand squad details and fixtures

597bc379 000 1en701 1200x1000 - Cricket World Cup: New Zealand squad details and fixtures

New Zealand nearly went all the way last time around, and will be looking to clinch their first Cricket World Cup crown when the tournament kicks off in England later in May.

The Kiwis were runners-up last time around as they were beaten convincingly in the final by Australia when the two countries co-hosted the tournament four years ago.

They will have to wait until they’re seven matches deep into the 2019 edition of the global showpiece in order to exact revenge on their trans-Tasman rivals on the big stage.

The Black Caps kick things off against Sri Lanka on Saturday, 1 June before two potential banana peels against Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

The intensity in competition steps up considerably midway through the month, as they face back-to-back fixtures against India and South Africa.

New Zealand have named a strong squad captained by the talismanic Kane Williamson, which also features rookie wicketkeeper batsman Tom Blundell, who’s yet to be capped in the 50-over format.

New Zealand CWC 2019 fixtures

1 June: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka – 11:30

5 June: Bangladesh vs New Zealand – 14:30

8 June: Afghanistan vs New Zealand – 14:30

13 June: India vs New Zealand – 11:30

19 June: New Zealand vs South Africa – 11:30

22 June: West Indies vs New Zealand – 14:30

26 June: New Zealand vs Pakistan – 11:30

29 June: New Zealand vs Australia – 14:30

3 July: England vs New Zealand – 11:30

New Zealand Cricket World Cup squad

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *