SABC journalists scoop Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards

SABC News Vodacom Awards journalist.vodacom - SABC journalists scoop Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards

Five SABC journalists have won big at the 2020 edition of the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards. The Awards, held virtually this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, recognise some of the best journalistic talents in South Africa.

The Awards were held under the theme “RE: Imagine, RE: Invent, RE: Build as we adapt to the ‘new normal.’”

“Journalists have gone the extra mile to help society and individuals to understand and come to terms with the crisis we are facing. With their eyes focused firmly on the pandemic, they have also had to monitor other social crises, such as corruption that continues unabated; rampant crime, including gender‐based violence; and the growing global outrage against racism and police brutality,” Vodacom said in a statement.


In the Eastern Cape, Lerato Fekisi won big at the Awards, scooping three awards in the categories: lifestyle, Finance and Economics, and Innovation in Journalism.

Yanga Funani took home the Award of Sports Journalist of the year, Nkululeko Nyembezi won in the Features category while Nomvuyo Ntanjana took home the Young Journalist of the year.

In the Northern Cape, Motlalepule Morake took home the Award for Sustainability.

All regional winners took home a cash prize of R5 000.

The post SABC journalists scoop Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards appeared first on SABC News – Breaking news, special reports, world, business, sport coverage of all South African current events. Africa's news leader..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *