Political party representatives who will be in South Africa’s sixth Parliament

6a903201 32373601707 67048a21c1 k 1200x1000 - Political party representatives who will be in South Africa’s sixth Parliament

South Africa’s sixth Democratic Parliament will begin later
this month, with some familiar faces returning to the fore.

With election-fever slowly dwindling away, after a particularly tumultuous political battle which climaxed on 8 May, attention turns to the opening of parliament and, in particular, the National Assembly.

South Africa’s sixth Parliament

For nearly two months, parliamentary pews have laid bare due to the bureaucratic intermission signalled by the country’s sixth democratic election. The seats, usually filled with animated politicians, have been left unceremoniously cold. This lull will, however, come to an end on 22 May.

Next week, new Members of the National Assembly and the
National Council of Provinces will be sworn in. The Chief Justice of South
Africa will perform the honour and, under the Constitution, each party
representative is expected to pledge an oath to the citizens of the country. The
National Council of Provinces (NCOP) will undergo the ritual on 23 May,
following which; Parliament will officially be in session.

So, who can we expect to see in the bleachers – who will be representing our best interests as citizens of South Africa? Thankfully, all parliamentary candidate lists were finalised prior to the electoral conference. Objections were raised and swiftly dismissed; a blanket termination which garnered widespread criticism. As a result, we know exactly who will be part of South Africa’s sixth parliament.

Read: Election results 2019 – here’s who made it to the National Assembly

Political party representatives

Below are the top ten party representatives of the leading
parties in the National Assembly.

African National
Congress (National Assembly seats: 230)

  • Cyril Ramaphosa
  • David Mabuza
  • Gwede Mantashe
  • Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  • Baleka Mbete
  • Lindiwe Sisulu
  • Bathabile Dlamini
  • Naledi Pandor
  • Nomvula Mokonyane
  • Ayanda Dlodlo

For the full list of ANC members of parliament, click here.

Democratic Alliance
(National Assembly seats: 84)

  • Mmusi Maimane
  • Willem Faber
  • Evelyn Wilson
  • Joseph Job McGluwa
  • Hendrik Krüger
  • Patricia Kopane
  • Andrew Whitfield
  • John Steenhuisen
  • Geordin Hill-Lewis
  • Thomas Walters

For the full list of DA members of parliament, click here.

Economic Freedom
Fighters (National Assembly seats: 44)

  • Julius Malema
  • Floyd Shivambu
  • Dali Mpofu
  • Hlengiwe Mkhaliphi
  • Godrich Gardee
  • Leigh-Ann Mathys
  • Mbuyiseni Ndlozi
  • Ngwanamakwetle Mashabela
  • Marshall Dlamini

For the full list of EFF members of parliament, click here.

Inkatha Freedom Party
(National Assembly seats: 14)

  • Mangosuthu Buthelezi
  • Narend Singh
  • Mkhuleko Hlengwa
  • Liezl Van Der Merwe
  • Zandile Majozi
  • Christian Msimang
  • Bhekizizwe Luthuli
  • Jan Esterhuizen
  • Mzomuhle Dlamini
  • Mphendukelwa Mbatha

Freedom Front Plus
(National Assembly seats: 10)

  • Pieter Groenewald
  • Anton Alberts
  • Cornelius Mulder
  • Wouter Wessels
  • Phillip Van Staden
  • Wynand Boshoff
  • Tamarin Wessels
  • Pieter Mey
  • Ignatius Michael Groenewald
  • Heloise Jordaan

African Christian
Democratic Party (National Assembly seats: 4)

  • Kenneth Meshoe
  • Steven Swart
  • Wayne Thring
  • Nosizwe Abada

United Democratic
Movement (National Assembly seats: 2)

  • Bantu Holomisa
  • Nqabayomzi Kwankwa

African Transformation
Movement (National Assembly seats: 2)

  • Vuyolwethu Zungula
  • Thandiswe Marawu

GOOD Party (National
Assembly seats: 2)

  • Patricia de Lille
  • Shaun August

National Freedom
Party (National Assembly seats: 2)

  • Zanele Msibisi
  • Ahmed Shaik Emam

African Independent
Congress (National Assembly seats: 2)

  • Mandlenkosi Galo
  • Lulama Ntshayisa

Congress of The
People (National Assembly seats: 2)

  • Mosiuoa Lekota
  • William Madisha

Pan Africanist
Congress (National Assembly seats: 1)

  • Mzwanele Nyhontso

Al Jama-ah (National
Assembly seats: 1)

  • Mogamad Hendricks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *