Another ANC MP bites the dust: Tokozile Xasa resigns from Parliament

c49cea50 33799786338 5c5969ffeb k 1200x1000 - Another ANC MP bites the dust: Tokozile Xasa resigns from Parliament

Former Minister of Sport and Recreation, Tokozile Xasa, has officially become the fifth member of the ANC to tender her resignation from Parliament in the past two weeks.

Why is Tokozile Xasa resigning?

As reported by The Citizen, the party revealed that it had acknowledged Xasa’s intention to remove herself from her Parliamentary seat. Although, a reason for her departure has yet to be furnished.

Related: Susan Shabangu becomes fourth ANC MP to resign from Parliament

ANC chief whip, Pemmy Majodina, confirmed that the former minister will be officially replaced on Monday, when the other spare comrades are sworn in to take up the positions of the four other MPs who have recently left the National Assembly.

“Comrade Xasa’s resignation is effective from today. Comrade Xasa will be replaced by comrade Judy Hermans on the national-to-national list, while comrade Makhosini Nkosi was replaced by comrade Lindiwe Mjobo on the provice-to-province list of KawZulu-Natal. Comrade Hermans will therefore still be sworn in on Monday with the rest of the other comrades who are scheduled to take up seats in the National Assembly,” Majodina revealed.

ANC on an MP shake-up

Up until now, not a single one of the five MPs that have resigned from their ANC seats in Parliament has furnished a reason behind their decision.

It is believed that this is, in large part, got to do with the recent special NEC meeting that took place about the contents of the party’s integrity committee report.

Related: Jeff Radebe: South Africa’s longest serving minister says farewell

23 ANC cadres were called to account by the integrity committee for allegedly placing the party in disrepute. Of these, Deputy President was one of them.

It is not clear, at this stage, whether Xasa was one of these members. However, it is quite odd that she, former Minister of Social Development, Susan Shabangu, Nomaindia Mfeketo who is the former Minister of Human Settlements, Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba, the former Minister of State Security and former Energy Minister, Jeff Radebe have all submitted their letters of resignation to Parliament in a span of a week or so.

This corroborates well with the statements made by a source close to secretary-general, Ace Magashule, that warned Sunday Times about an impending ANC MP exodus.

“People are going to resign [from Parliament] but for other reasons [for pensions, redeployment and factions], not because the integrity committee said they must resign,” the anonymous source said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *